Posted by: heart nibbler | March 1, 2010

More things in Giada’s home bother me

So I was watching Giada at Home today–for some reason I cannot completely divorce myself from this show despite my criticisms of it–and I happened to see this dish, “Trenette with Eggplant and Pesto.” By the time I caught this goof on Food Network, the show plate at the beginning of the show had disappeared, but I managed to snag this shot of said dish before 30 Minute Meals came on.

Anyway, Giada was going on and on about how the dish originated in Northern Italy, etc. al. whatever.  Problem is this penne-like pasta didn’t originate in Northern Italy–it originated in Southern Italy (technically), in the Abruzzo region. Giada wasn’t actually using trenette pasta, which did originate in Northern Italy.  She was using trennette pasta. This, on the other hand, is trenette pasta:

In summary, real trenette looks like a thicker version of fettuccine.  Trennette pasta, on the other hand, looks like a slimmer version of penne.

I’m not going to lie, I would make this dish.  I just wouldn’t call it “Trenette with Eggplant and Pesto;” in my case, I would call it “Penne, Pan-Fried Eggplant and Pesto” since in Nowheresville, NC people have no clue what trennette pasta looks like.

Also I can go on about how lemons aren’t usually seen in Northern Italian cooking but I will stop here for today.

Responses

  1. Mmmmm, looks sumptuously yummy!


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

